Haters gonna Hate

Well, I’m trying to update more regularly, but life is certainly trying it’s best to get in the way! The week itself, after a busy start, was overall slow.

Now comes the problems. My work switched insurance companies beginning on the first of the year. My prescription is an expensive therapy, but it’s obviously EXTREMELY effective. Considering I can count how many years ago I had swelling so bad that I had to walk with a cane (6 years), and now I run a half marathon in 1:46:48.

My new insurance company is taking exception to my use of this medication because of how expensive it is. They are trying to use a loophole to state that it is not approved for use with my condition, which disagrees with the NIH, but who am I to judge?

Wednesday I took my lunch on the road and drove to the Lahey Clinic in Burlington, MA. Total trip is about 1.5 hours depending on traffic. I ate at my desk on Tuesday (having been sick with a 24 hour stomach bug Sun-Mon) so that I could have the extra time I needed to get my free samples from my AMAZING doctor. When I showed up I was informed that my insurance had denied my prescription and he had already written an appeal letter.

12552662_10100900238407126_402361986431731208_n

I approve extensively of their training plan. (Above: “Let’s run a 5K then drink like it was a Marathon.”

I am still fighting my insurance company, but it also gives me an opportunity to be thankful. I am so thankful this AMAZING doctor found me and diagnosed me. I am thankful that we found a treatment plan that works (the first drug made me throw-up for 18 straight hours, a bit of an issue for a drug you take every 12 hours). I am thankful that I have gotten half as far as I have. This is truly beyond words.

This weekend I knocked out my long run before the snows hit. I did go for the treadmill again. I have that nagging voice in my head telling me that I’m going too easy on myself, and this is a terrible idea. However, I don’t like the risk this season puts on my runs. I do not want to slip and break my ankle training, get hit by a car skidding on the ice, or have a handful of bad quality runs because that’s what OTHER people expect out of MY training. I understand the elements are going to be present on race day, but training in 15-25 degree weather for a 45-60 degree race (I’ve researched the weather history) is not helping and will not make me a better runner. I know, except for freezing temperatures, I run better in colder temps so this will actually challenge me more than running in 40-45 degree weather.

All that aside I’ve been researching how to make the most out of my dreadmill time. I keep the incline at 1% except to increase for some random hills ever 12 minutes to 3% for 2 minutes, then I cool down and drop 20 seconds off my pace for 2 minutes. One thing I am really learning to do is what hydration works best and when to eat to keep myself from hitting the wall. I think this is giving me drastically better results because my energy level and soreness are sticking around a lot less. It also is teaching me how to stick to a pace better. As we all know, I have the tendency to overtrain and overrun. I tell everyone that I listen to my body as best I can, but I am severely lacking in this.

The best reason I can come up with my ignoring my bodies complaints is because I’m used to it. I frequently forget to eat because I ignore hunger, I ignore small aches and pains that can develop into something more severe, and sometimes I forget I need to go to the bathroom because I get too focused on a project (“I need to pee…. OOOOHHHH shiny object! *30 minutes* OH GOD I HAVE TO PEE! *runs to bathroom*”).

The theory I have is that the only reason I could go to school, or go to work, was by ignoring the fatigue and pain from the TRAPS. Telling my body to shut up was the only way I could do what I needed to do to be where I am. So pacing myself by feel is just not a skill I have, I can run until my body collapses currently, and I need to improve this. The dreadmill may be boring, but it is teaching me how to listen and how to stick to my pace.

1.23.16 Run

I went to look at my training plan to see what distance I will need this coming weekend! Last run of January, EXCITING! Wait, this weekend is 18 miles? What the hell?

So last week was my “rest” week, and I forgot about it. I’m thinking of dropping my mileage down to 16-17 then getting back on schedule to hit 20 miles. The 20 miles mark is a good place to be for me. That means I’m almost done with mileage increases. After this I just need to hit 22, then there’s just breathing and technique. It’s actually pretty scary to think I’m at the point where I am done with mileage increases before Boston. I need to make sure my body starts to get used to those distances, and improves to make them as easy as possible. That will come with time putting in the miles over and over again.

I also need to prepare for a team run! On February 27 all the Charity Teams will run a 17 miler with a superhero theme. I’m currently considering going as Iron Man or the Winter Soldier. Both have race shirts I can use and are relatively simple. I don’t plan on trying to win any dress up awards, just to have fun with a training run with a forced cut back week. I suppose I should be social too.

Hopefully I am in for a slow, easy week into another fun weekend. My brothers birthday celebration is Saturday (he is working Thursday on his real birthday). It should be fun to hang out with everyone. No more Pats games to look forward to, we lost Sunday night and are out of the Superbowl. They performed admirably this year in the face of so many injuries and tough returns to the field. I will look forward to cooking, friends, burning more vacation time, and getting my football squares locked up. If anyone is looking for some Superbowl squares that go to charity feel free to send me a message!

Onwards to Boston!


Leave a comment