Merry Christmas to All!

Merry Christmas to all my readers and their families. I am down in Duxbury enjoying a fantastic Christmas with my grandparents, parents, brother and sister-in-law.

20151224_191600

When they are awake.

Christmas Eve was filled with good food (too much) and good beer (too much). I also am fighting a sinus cold that is not being too nice to me. Tuesday I did my hill training (7% incline for 2 minute periods) and I was gasping for breath a lot more than usual. I thought maybe the TRAPS was starting to get to me a day early, but I woke up the next morning and my nose was in terrible pain.

I also was supposed to get my Enbrel injections on Tuesday, and since it is the holidays I watched my tracking number like a hawk. So I was the first person to notice my 24 hour delivery window was delayed. Now, if this was an amazon order or something else I wouldn’t care, but this is my life saving medication that can’t get warm or it is ruined. I was just a little alarmed, I figured weather delayed my package. NOPE! I got a call from the “proactive response” team (which should change its name) letting me know that they overfilled the plane and decided my package would be left behind.

Luckily I got it the first thing the next morning and it was still cold. So Wednesday night I went with my family to a tavern right down the road from them. Sadly my cold was hitting me hard, and I started to flare in the middle of the restaurant. I took my shot that night as soon as I got home and slept for about 12 hours. That morning I was still feeling sluggish so I skipped speed training in the hopes that I will be strong enough for my long run the next day.

Christmas day I started with some crepes and bacon. I then set out on my run around Duxbury. Christmas day last year I went on my first run back after my hip replacement.

Xmas Past Run

Wow, I had to stop part way last year and I couldn’t get another run for 2 weeks!

Xmas Run

I’d say it is quite an improvement! I loved this run, it was a beautiful day. I also had some nice hills in there.

20151225_103739

What a great place! My parents moved to a fantastic little town. I ran from their place down to the beach, up to standish monument and then back home. This is the first time I am cutting back in distance instead of continuously pushing the distance (per coach suz’s advice). I’d say it was a good time to do it! Especially since my family was waiting to begin festivities back home!

20151225_112850

Tomorrow I will be helping my dad get my grandparents back to New Jersey, and then Sunday my dad and I will put in our appearance at our old haunt for the patriots game. I hope everyone has a safe and joyous holiday!


Leave a comment