TRAPS hates flying!

I don’t exactly have a long run to post but I figure I need to get something out here so everyone doesn’t think I died or something (I might have like 1 reader, but I’m sure they are concerned). I’ve been going a mile a minute recently, but I am keeping up a lot better than I should be. considering. Due to working constraints I have not had much of any time to myself. First I had “Technical Committee Chair Training Level 2” which is a training class for our committee chairs 2 weeks ago starting on October 20th for 3-4 days. This means 3 things:

1. I had to be present at the all day training,as much as possible while completing my normal work

2. SO MUCH FOOD (All 3 meals which leads to point 3)

3. No time for Eric (Arrive early for breakfast, working lunch, and working dinners)

On top of this my gym was undergoing a renovation and was closed. Luckily I didn’t miss a single cross training day, I just had to finagle the schedule a bit differently so I could borrow my coworkers gym who lives nearby (I had a fob to take care of her cat anyways).

After that I also went with some coworkers to Salsa dancing in Cambridge that Friday night. I have two left feet, I take huge steps (thank you Kendo!), and I’m dyslexic. Overall I was given a lot of encouragement for my second time out, but I won’t exactly be winning any awards anytime soon (sorry disappointed fans).

That Sunday for the Patriots vs. Jets game I made braised short ribs for my parents. I had pulled my dad up to Quincy so many times, and I love to cook so I owed them one. Overall, I accidentally made them too spicy because of my “Rudy’s Rub” from my favorite BBQ joint in San Antonio/Albuquerque.

FB_IMG_1446557716176

I take cooking very seriously, the right tools make it so much more enjoyable.

FB_IMG_1446557709970

Candied, maple, “Flight of the Angry Beast” by Clown Shoes Brewery Bacon. I brought the leftovers into my office, supposedly “These are better than sex.”

 FB_IMG_1446557703667

I seared the ribs in my cast iron, then I caramelized the onions with some of the aforementioned beer, then braised in that beer with some veggies for 4 hours in the oven. While they were succulent and fell apart easy, I did make them too spicy. I underestimate the power of that rub (it doesn’t smell spicy, and I gauge mixing ingredients on smell).

Then the following Tuesday (Oct. 27) I flew out to Minneapolis for a Technical Committee meeting. The flight itself was uneventful, although I arrived early, then had my outgoing flight delayed, so I got stuck in O’hare for longer than I anticipated. I would have enjoyed a nice long lunch, but I knew I had been eating well off my diet the previous week, and the United terminal at O’hare appears to have given up on sit down restaurants in favor of grab and go food.

That night and the following night, following working dinners, I managed to get 1 hour in the hotel gym on the elliptical. This left me with approximately 20 minutes of time to myself, but sacrifices must be made for good cross training!

This leads me to Thursday, it would have been a good day (Go pats!), but I had obviously been pushing it. I worked out 2 days in a row and was planning on a 3rd to lead to 1-2 days of rest. The issue with this is that after flying the TRAPS was very upset (it usually is) and I had been starving myself to keep up with the diet changes (eating out every meal is tough, and they constantly restock the cookies/muffins in my meeting room). So while I was eating nothing but salads at meal time, working out hard, and with the TRAPS going off I crashed Thursday.

Thursday started with a 4 hour walking tour of a Propane Peak Shaving Utility Plant. These are plants that are attached directly to pipelines to assist during peak hours when demand on the natural gas supply for home heating is particularly high. It was an interesting tour, but while I woke up feeling terrible, I was then treated to 4 hours trudging through rain in 40 degree weather. We actually got back from the tour early and I took a nap between the tour and lunch. I finally came to the conclusion during the meeting at around 3 pm that going to the gym that night was out of the question. While the enbrel was fighting valiantly, I was pushing it too far.

I instead did the only sensible thing and found a nice pub with a good beer selection to watch the Pats play. I think I chose wisely. I had a good time, while everyone at the bar made fun of my patriots for their “obvious cheating” it was all in good fun. FB_IMG_1446557750696“So, do you have anything on tap?”

The next day I woke up feeling much, much better. That day my meeting ended early (we accomplished all of our goals) so I was able to get an hour in on the elliptical, and 3 miles on the treadmill (8:20ish minute miles with warm up). Then I walked to the Mall of America 1 mile away and had a good sushi dinner with dessert.

FB_IMG_1446557782953“Why don’t all malls have crepe stands?!”
FB_IMG_1446557790098

“Why don’t all malls have peeps stores?!”

That Saturday (Halloween) I flew out of Minneapolis for a 7 am flight. I had once entertained the idea of going to the gym that night before a night out (my favorite holiday). Of course what really happened was that I got home, did laundry, cleaned the apartment and crashed. The next morning I got back to my normal schedule and got my exercise bike on (16 miles at a high intensity for an hour nets me about 850 calories). My dad came up for lunch on his way to the airport, and also so we could put in our Sunday appearance at my local haunt (where they honest to god know me by name) “The Fours”. A lot of the bartenders will talk running with me as well, my favorite just got back into running (previous years he has run the Boston Marathon and is encouraging me to go for it).

The next day (last night, the 2nd) I had an interview for a Periodic Fever study. It’s interesting how much better I have gotten talking about my fight with this demon/ghost. I used to be rather tight lipped, but I’ve been pushing myself to discuss it more openly. A lot of my fellow students in undergrad and grad school always assumed I was a party animal which is why I always was so tired and worn down. I should have corrected them but I was fighting so hard at the time (I had a collapsible cane I could hide in my bag and everything).

After the interview I kicked my ass into the gym, I need to work off that crepes and peeps (I still have 1 package left! One package was opened by the air pressure in the cargo hold so it had to be consumed immediately, chocolate dipped in chocolate is amazing). I pulled my regular bike cross training (almost to 25/25 resistance!) and decided to hit the treadmill too. I got my 3 miles in at 8:29 min/miles average, and this morning I feel exceptionally well. As I said previously, my body is bouncing back so much faster than usual.

Tonight I am attending a gala for the Last Call Foundation. I’m not usually a social person, but I love this charity. I’ve been selective with my charities recently, donating money to my old dojo, the rare disease foundation, and now this. I suppose I’m trying to prepare myself for paying the money I need to raise if I am so lucky as to get a bib. Since my brother is a firefighter, and my career is devoted to fire prevention, this charity follows a noticeable trend. Hopefully I can at least get past my introversion for one night.

Sunday I have another Half Marathon in Newton, MA (Which is why I haven’t put up another long run, on top of the TRAPS hating flying and the busy work weeks). I’m very unsure of how well I’ll do but at least the weather is cooperating with a less than chilly event this time. The next update will be with my race time!


Leave a comment